Forum

Hello, from Kristin

1. Kristin Jenkins

I'm Kristin Jenkins, and I'm located in Germantown, Maryland, near Montgomery College.  I am the co-PI on this grant with Vedham.  My background is in molecular biology and evolution.  I come to this project through BioQUEST, a professional development community for biology faculty, but I also get to adjunct at the Germantown campus of Montgomery College sometimes.  QB@CC aligns with BioQUEST's long commitment to increasing students' quantitative skills, and QB@CC builds directly on the QUBES project which provides the platform for our group.  I'm very interested in the OER aspect of the project.  My hope is that as a group we will be able to generate a collection of high quality, practical and effective resources to share with the community.  I share my office with my dog, Callisto, who makes sure we take a walk every evening. 

Report abuse

2. Pete Kaslik

I teach math at Pierce College in Lakewood, WA.  The course I teach almost exclusively is statistics, but I also taught our Math in Society course with a theme of sustainability.  In addition to teaching, I used to have a small business through which I would analyze environmental data.  Beyond the typical math courses, I am interested in understanding systems and system dynamics modeling.  I was introduced to this project by one of my biology colleagues at Pierce.  I have participated in other efforts over the years to integrate math with other subjects so that math is more meaningful and I look forward to continuing that effort with this group.

Report abuse

3. Pallavi A Bhale

Hello All!

I am Pallavi Bhale. I am a Math faculty at Montgomery College in Germantown Maryland. My dissertation topic in Grade school was Biofluid Dynamics. I teach Algebra, Differential Equations, and Calculus I, II, III.