Hello Everyone!

1. Tyler Frazier

Hi, sorry for my tardy introduction!  My name is Tyler Frazier and I'm a Lecturer at William & Mary in our newly formed Data Science Program.  My teaching focuses on introducing freshmen to data science methods, applications and concepts mostly through the lense of describing and analyzing human development patterns and processes with emphasis on the development context of low and middle income countries.  I lived in Ghana for large stretches between 2007 and 2012, and while my research is focused on geospatial statistics, that focus also intersects with West Africa.  My research focuses on generating close to reality synthetic populations for use in agent-based models, while more recently I have been joining machine learning approaches (random forest, geostatistical bayes, using cell phone data to model migration using gravity type models etc...).   I know this perspective isn't as biology-centric as the rest of the group, but hopefully you will find my focus at least biology adjacent.  I have been enjoying reading all of your introductions and am very much looking forward to meeting you all!!!  Please feel free to join the slack space in advance of my Monday presentation if you are interested.  The emphasis for my talk will be on introducing freshman to R and Data Science, thus very much a walk before one can run approach to teaching/learning.  I'm more than willing to share any and all code (R and LaTeX) for your own use and adaptation.  If you want to have a quick look at material to determine if my talk will be useful, after joining the slack space, add all of the #data100_ channels, and scroll to the top of the thread to access documents (or click on the all files button under the ... tab).  All of the channels are open access, so please feel free to peruse as you wish.  I'm very excited to participate in the workshop and learn more about how each of you are incorporating data and data science as part of your teaching.  Perso