QUBES will have scheduled maintenance work beginning on Wednesday, June 26, 2024, 4pm ET/1pm PT. The platform will operate normally for most of the day, except for an extended outage period lasting no more than 4 hours. All running tool sessions will expire during the maintenance window. Please plan accordingly and we do apologize for any inconvenience. close

This group is for the NSF IUSE-funded SUMMIT-P: A National Consortium for Synergistic Undergraduate Mathematics via Multi-institutional Interdisciplinary Teaching Partnerships.

Consortium Institutions include:

  • Augsburg College
  • Ferris State University
  • LaGuardia Community College
  • Lee University
  • Norfolk State University
  • Oregon State University
  • Saint Louis University
  • San Diego State University
  • Unity College
  • Virginia Commonwealth University



In conjunction with the Committee on Curriculum Renewal Across the First Two Years (CRAFTY) of the Mathematical Association of America (MAA), a consortium of eleven institutions will collaborate to revise and improve the curriculum for lower division undergraduate mathematics courses. A key element of these innovations will be interdisciplinary partnerships, with partner disciplines directly involved in decisions about curricular needs. Collectively, the consortium will impact over 52,000 undergraduate students and 200 college faculty from a wide array of disciplines through implementing major recommendations from the MAA Curriculum Foundations (CF) Project and changing the undergraduate mathematics curriculum in ways that support improved STEM learning for all students while building the STEM workforce of tomorrow. The project will also foster a network of cross-disciplinary faculty in order to promote community and institutional transformation through shared experiences and ideas for successfully creating functional interdisciplinary partnerships within and across institutions. Materials and ideas generated by the curricular changes and the interdisciplinary collaborative process will be widely disseminated through workshops at national conferences, two journal special issues, extensive publications, and open webinars. 

This project will be based on research about the needs of partner disciplines, as identified in a series of 22 workshops organized by CRAFTY. At each of the eleven participating institutions in the project, mathematics and partner discipline faculty will collaborate to better understand the CF recommendations, determine how these recommendations can be used to effectively improve the content of affected courses, introduce modifications in pilot sections, work with a central evaluation team to measure the effectiveness of new approaches (especially as it pertains to students from underrepresented groups), offer workshops and support for instructors using these new curricula (locally, regionally, and nationally), and scale-up these new offerings within the consortium and through dissemination to additional campuses. The central evaluation will yield extensive, consistently-collected data to accurately determine the effects of innovative partnerships and resulting curricular changes. Additionally, the project will contribute significantly to the Faculty Learning Communities (FLC) knowledge-base and generate a greater understanding of the interdisciplinary nature of mathematics within the broader undergraduate curriculum.

NSF Funding Information:

NSF Org:

Division Of Undergraduate Education

Initial Amendment Date:

September 15, 2016

Award Number:


Award Instrument:

Standard Grant

Program Manager:

Sandra Richardson
DUE Division Of Undergraduate Education
EHR Direct For Education and Human Resources

Start Date:

September 15, 2016

NSF Program(s):


Program Reference Code(s):

8209, 9178

Program Element Code(s):



This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No.1625557. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.