Officers of BIO SIGMAA

Current Officers

Meet our current officers and learn more about them by hovering over their picture.

Hannah Highlander

Hannah Highlander

University of Portland

Hannah earned a B.A. in Mathematics with minors in Computer Science and Music from Wesleyan College, and M.S. and Ph.D. in Mathematics with an emphasis in Mathematical Biology from Vanderbilt University. She is on the editorial board for Spora, A Journal of Biomathematics and Letters in Biomathematics and serves on the board of directors for the Intercollegiate Biomathematics Alliance (IBA).  Her primary research interests include mathematical modeling of biological processes, sensitivity analysis, mathematical biology education.

Alex Capaldi

Chair Elect
Valparaiso University 

Alex received his B.S./B.A. in mathematics and chemistry from Ferris State University and his Master of Operations Research and Ph.D in Applied Mathematics from North Carolina State University.  His research interests focus on theoretical ecology and evolution, particularly dealing with conservation, extinction, and historical biology.

Raina Robeva

Raina Robeva

Past Chair
Randolph Macon College 

Raina received her B.S. in Mathematics, M.S. in Probability and Statistics from the University of Sofia “St. Kliment Ohridski,” and her Ph.D in Mathematics at the University of Virgina. She is the founding chief editor of the journal Frontiers in Systems Biology and past chair of the advisory board of the National Institute for Mathematical and Biological Synthesis. Her research interests span a wide range of topics including systems biology, random processes and fields, and mathematical modeling for biology and the biomedical sciences.

Tim Comar

Borbala K. Mazzag

Program Chair
Humboldt State University

I am Professor and Chair of Mathematics at Humboldt State University. where I have taught for over ten years. I am currently most passionate about mentoring math undergrads and have developed a course to connect students to industry and help them develop marketable skills for the workforce.  My research is in biochemical and mechanical cell signaling, but I have also modeled neuroanatomy in zebrafish.  I am a faculty advisory council member of the "Cal. State Univ. Program for Education and Research in Biotechnology (CSUPERB)".

Vandana Sharma

Robert Stolz

University of the Virgin Islands

Robert Stolz received a PhD in Mathematics from Lehigh University. His current research includes applications of mathematical and computational methods to proteomics, population biology, and study of coral diseases. Dr. Stolz is director of a number of STEM undergraduate projects aimed at increasing the number of students from groups traditionally underrepresented in STEM who earn baccalaureate degrees, and ultimately increase the numbers that go on for advanced degrees in STEM.

Frank Lynch

Frank Lynch

Eastern Washington University

Frank received his B.A. in mathematics and physics from Linfield College and his Ph.D from the University of Utah. His research interests include mathematical modeling of biological processes. He is particularly interested in biological gels, biochemical physiology, perturbation theory, and asymptotic analysis.

Tim Comar

Tim Comar

Electronic Communications
Benedictine University

Tim graduated with a Sc.B with Honors in Mathematics from Brown University and his Ph.D in Mathematics from the University of Michigan.He is committed to introducing and training undergraduate students in the biological sciences with appropriate and relevant mathematical and computuational skills so that they can succeed in future endeavors in modern, quantitative biological research. His research interests include hyperbolic manifolds, Kleinian groups, and topology.

Past Officers

  • Carl Cowen, Charter Chair, 2006
  • Eric Marland, Chair, 2007
  • Jonathan Rubin, Secretary, 2007
  • Laurie Heyer, Chair, 2008
  • Colm Mulcahy, Web Manager, 2006-2008
  • Glenn Ledder, Program Chair, 2007-2009
  • Raina Robeva, Chair, 2009
  • Renee Salinas, Program Chair, 2009
  • Brian Walton, Secretary, 2010
  • Holly Gaff, Chair, 2010
  • Tim Comar, Chair, 2012
  • David Gammack, Secretary, 2013 - 2014
  • Elsa Schaefer, Secretary, 2011 - 2013, Electronic Communications Director 2012 - 2014
  • Lester Caudill, Chair, 2014 - 2015