Blog

Registration deadline is 2/26 for the next InTeGrate webinar—Addressing Critical Issues in Your Community: Examples for Introductory Courses

​Join us for the next webinar in the spring InTeGrate series: 
Addressing Critical Issues in Your Community: Examples for Introductory Courses

Wednesday, February 28, 2018
12:00 pm PT | 1:00 pm MT | 2:00 pm CT | 3:00 pm ET

Presenters: Sarah Fortner (Wittenberg University), Laura Guertin (Penn State Brandywine), and Kenneth Brown (West Virginia University)

Registration Deadline:  Monday, February 26

Earth scientists serve inherently civic roles addressing critical issues of water quality and quantity, soil health, mineral and energy resource extraction, climate change, and natural hazards. This AGI co-sponsored webinar will showcase easy-entry community engagement activities that help build capacity for our community to address critical issues. Strategies include outreach, advocacy, research in-service to partners, and knowledge co-development. We will highlight examples that are most accessible (i.e. introductory classes). We also seek your examples of critical issues your students explore locally through data analyses.

At the end of this webinar, participants will have:

  • An understanding of major strategies for engaging students in their communities and primary learning outcomes
  • Ideas for introductory courses where information literacy is critical
  • Ideas for introductory courses that are low cost and tied to critical issues
  • A cohort of attendees interested in critical issues and community engagement

All webinars are recorded. If you can't make the live event, check back on the webinar information page for the screencast/recording.

Learn more

REGISTER NOW
 

  1. community engagement
  2. critical issues
  3. information literacy
  4. introductory courses
  5. webinar

Comments on this entry

There are no comments at this time.

Post a comment

You must log in to post comments.

Please keep comments relevant to this entry.

Line breaks and paragraphs are automatically converted. URLs (starting with http://) or email addresses will automatically be linked.