Blog

SimBio Webinar this Friday (Feb. 16th): Natural Selection Case Study

 

 

Many of SimBio's customers are interested in making their classroom time more active, but it can be a lot of work! As you may recall, last year we sponsored a QUBES faculty-mentoring group to help a group of instructors develop in-class activities to accompany our modules. We're excited to announce that the authors of one of the QUBES projects (which has been submitted for publication) have offered to share their case study approach in a webinar this Friday (February 16th).

Dr. Katherine La Commare and Dr. Peter Van Zandt both teach with our SimUText System. They created and classroom-tested a case study based around the work of Dr. Hopi Hoekstra and collaborators, investigating various aspects of natural selection on coat color variation in deer mice. By discussing, analyzing, and graphing data in small groups, students collaboratively reinforce their understanding of key factors involved in evolution by natural selection while honing their analytic and data presentation skills. The activities were designed to compliment our Evolution for Ecology interactive chapter, which is widely used in a variety of courses.

In the webinar (which we anticipate will last 30 - 45 minutes, depending on discussion and questions), Katherine and Peter will describe their project and discuss how their approach has been working with students at their schools. If participants are interested, I'll be happy to demo Evolution for Ecology or other modules and talk about ways other instructors use our teaching tools as the foundation for classroom activities.

A CLASSROOM-TESTED CASE STUDY APPROACH TO TEACH NATURAL SELECTION:

Friday, February 16th     

10:00 AM Pacific / 11:00 AM Mountain / 12:00 PM Central / 1:00 PM Eastern

REGISTER NOW

I hope to see some of you in the webinar - it will be fun! As always, please don't hesitate to get in touch (active-learning@simbio.com) if you have any questions.

Best regards,

Eli Meir (SimBio's founder) and the SimBio Webinar Support Team
617.314.7701
SimBio (formerly SimBiotic Software)

  1. case study
  2. ecology
  3. Evolution
  4. Natural Selection
  5. SimBio
  6. webinar

Comments on this entry

There are no comments at this time.

Post a comment

You must log in to post comments.

Please keep comments relevant to this entry.

Line breaks and paragraphs are automatically converted. URLs (starting with http://) or email addresses will automatically be linked.