Support

Support Options

  • Knowledge Base

    Find information on common questions and issues.

  • Support Messages

    Check on the status of your correspondences with members of the QUBES team.

Contact Us

About you
About the problem

Blog

Join us for the next webinar in the fall InTeGrate Series: Supporting All Students Through Active Learning

InTeGrate Logo

Join us for the next webinar in the fall InTeGrate Series:

Supporting All Students Through Active Learning

Friday, December 7, 2018
11:00 am PT | 12:00 pm MT | 1:00 pm CT | 2:00 pm ET

Learn more and register here.

Presenters: Kaatje Kraft (Whatcom Community College), Catherine Riihimaki (Princeton University), and Stefany Sit (University of Illinois at Chicago)

This webinar is part of a series supporting teaching with InTeGrate principles, using InTeGrate-developed and curated materials as tools.

Registration deadline: Wednesday, December 5

A growing body of research (e.g. Freeman et al. 2014, Prince 2004) shows that active learning has a positive impact on student learning, especially for students from underrepresented groups. Active learning can be broadly defined as student engagement and participation in the learning process. It can include various types of in-class activities, assessment, and reflection. During this webinar, we will model active learning while providing an overview of the current research on active learning and share examples of active learning techniques and strategies that can work for a variety of courses with a range of enrollment sizes, classroom setups, and student demographics. We will also discuss our own methods for implementing active learning and how these methods foster success for all students.

By the end of this webinar, participants will:

  • have active learning strategies that they can implement in their classroom
  • be able to describe the research indicating that active learning in the classroom supports the success of all students
  • be able to explain why active learning strategies are supportive of underrepresented populations

Please email Mitchell Awalt (mawalt@carleton.edu) if you have any questions about this event.

All webinars are recorded. If you can't make the live event, check back on the webinar information page for the screencast/recording.

  1. active learning
  2. InTeGrate
  3. webinar

Comments on this entry

There are no comments at this time.

Post a comment

You must log in to post comments.

Please keep comments relevant to this entry. Comments deemed offensive or inappropriate may be removed.

Dashboard

Close