Evie Brahmstedt Intro

1. Evie Brahmstedt

Hi everyone, 

This will be my first ever BioQUEST/QUBES experience and I am very excited to meet everyone and learn from the workshop! I am a PhD candidate at Clarkson University in Potsdam, NY with a degree in Environmental Science & Engineering, although I am a teaching assistant in the Biology department since my undergraduate degree was in biology and much of my research is still very biology-based. Speaking of my research, I am studying mercury cycling in St. Lawrence River wetlands! With my PhD, I hope to become a professor at an institution where I can further my research on freshwater wetland systems, teach and inspire future scientists, and also participate in environmental management by involving myself in organizations that function at the interface between science and policy. At the workshop, I hope to further my own data science skills, teaching skills, and more specifically, bring back to Clarkson methods of incorporating data science and/or data science learning into our General Biology lab curriculum. Ultimately, I seek to improve the critical thinking skills of students as I find many struggle to collect, visualize and communicate data and their associated findings, particularly in larger contexts. 

Outside of courses, teaching and research, I enjoy running, baking, reading and being outside, particularly on the water! I am from Vermont originally and I travel home frequently on weekends to enjoy the outdoors and family. I function best on coffee and chocolate. 

Looking forward to the workshop!

Report abuse

2. Kiersten Newtoff