Intro: Jenny Rahn

1. Jenny Rahn

My name is Jenny Rahn and I'm the Introduction to Biology Lab coordinator here at William & Mary. I've been at this position for three years now and have been working to introduce biology students to data processing and data management in the lab setting. I recently worked with an interdisciplinary team of Biology (including Margaret Saha) and Computer Science faculty developing ways to bring computer science to the Intro experience. As a result of that collaboration, I have developed and implemented a Jupyter Notebook platform to introduce my students to coding-based methods of data analysis with Python. In my previous life, I worked as a research scientist in the biomedical sciences, focusing specifically on using non-mammalian models to ask questions about DNA repair and mitochondrial dysfunction. With the advent of accessible and affordable sequencing and data-centered methodologies, I believe it is critically important to introduce the next generation of scientists to computer science and big data early and often to get over what I often see as a "fear factor". This will be my first QUBES/BioQUEST Workshop and I'm excited to hear more ideas from the community. Personally, I love being outside in any capacity, and have a large garden that keeps me busy during the summer. My fiance and I have a "fur baby", a rescue dog of unknown age named Daphne, who loves to "help" with the gardening. When I can drag myself out of the dirt, I love paddleboarding, hiking, surfing, reading and gaming. I'm looking forward to meeting everyone and I'm thrilled to be participating in what seems like a wonderful program.

Report abuse

2. Jennifer Glee Buntz

Jenny, 

Your work with students and data in a lab setting sounds very interesting.  Hope we can connect so that I can learn more about what you do in that area of your job.

Jennifer 

CNM Biology Faculty

Report abuse

3. Sarah Prescott