Suann Yang – Intro

1. Suann Yang

Hello everybody! I’m excited to participate in my second Summer Workshop (last year was my first). I’m looking forward to catching up with those of you I met last year and others whose paths I’m finally crossing with again (for example, Deb Linton…Hi Deb!!), and getting to know everyone else. So much expertise and awesome projects being described in this forum!

About me:  I’m an assistant professor of biology at SUNY Geneseo, in western New York state–a teaching-focused, primarily undergraduate institution. I’m a community ecologist by training, and also consider myself to have an education specialty. In addition to introductory biology lab and lecture courses, I teach a majors-required ecology course and an elective biostatistics course. Students learn to use R in both of the latter courses. Like Derek Sollberger and others, I’ve been teaching them via RStudio and R Markdown.

Some recent specific quant bio activities/projects of mine (all initiated by attending the 2018 Summer Workshop!): 

• A new stats curriculum called Cats Teach Stats. The philosophy of this curriculum is to use cute cat videos and other cat-related data from the Internet to reduce the anxiety associated with doing mathematics and statistics. We think it’s not just for cat people. I’d be glad to share links to our resources if anyone’s interested and/or interested in working with us catisticians.
    • This past spring, I led the Make Teaching R in Undergraduate Biology Less Excruciating (Make TRUBLE) FMN, in which participants developed modules in R with Swirl. It was super fun!

One of my general goals for participating in next week’s workshop is to learn lots about teaching Data Science, because my institution is working on creating an interdisciplinary minor for it.

See you all on Sunday!

Report abuse

2. Andrew Osborne Hasley